Project creation fails without further explanation when a standalone installed version is deleted prior to project creation
Package: Hub App
Fixed
3.18.X
This issue will be fixed in Hub 3.23.0
Steps to reproduce:
Install a new version through a standalone installer (6000.5.0b1 for example)
Open Hub
Add the installed version through the "Locate" button in the Installs section
Delete the installed version externally
Close Unity Hub
Open Unity Hub
Try creating a project with the deleted version
Observe the Hub
Actual results: "Unable to create project" is displayed
Expected results: A more detailed explanation like "The <selected version> version is missing" or a similar error is displayed (or rather the version is removed from the Installs list upon opening Hub)
Reproducible with versions: 3.17.3, 3.18.0
Tested on (OS): Windows 11 Pro
Notes:
No automatic validation for broken version references exists, therefore, the broken references remain attached to the Hub until removed manually
Projects previously opened with the later removed version will not open, and no error or warning will be thrown
Prioritise and Follow this issue
Have a workaround or additional info about this issue?